Sippin’ Cider Through a Straw

Debbie Calhoun at Culver-Palms Family YMCA in California was the first person I ever worked day camps for. That was back in the late-1980s. Debbie knew every camp song and campfire skit ever. Now, 20+ years later she still is a wealth of camping info. I asked her for the words to this song and she gave me both versions as you see here. One is the original and one is the CPY version.

(to the tune of “The Littlest Worm”)

(leader sings a line, everyone repeats; at the end of each verse the whole group sings the verse again together)

The cutest guy
I ever saw
Was sipping ci-
der through a straw.

I asked him if
He’d show me how
To sip that ci-
dert hrough a straw.

First cheek to cheek
Then jaw to jaw
We sipped that ci-
der through a straw.

Every now and then
The straw would slip
And we’d sip ci-
der lip to lip.

The parson came
To my backyard
A-sipping ci-
der from a straw.

And now I have
A mother-in-law
And fourteen kids
To call me Ma.

The moral of
This little tale
Is sip your ci-
der from a pail!
CPY VERSON

The cutest guy
I ever saw
Was sipping ci-
der through a straw.

First cheek to cheek
Then jaw to jaw
We sipped that ci-
der through a straw.

And sometimes when
That straw would slip
And we’d sip ci-
der lip to lip.

And now I have
A mother-in-law
And fourteen kids
To call me Ma.

The moral is
My little dopes
Don’t you sip Ci-
der you sip Coke.

Leader:

The moral ismy little dopes
Don’t you sip ci-der you sip…

(Kids interrupt and sing):

…Dad’s old fashioned root beer
Same old stuff since last year
Going on it’s 10th year
Guess we’d better stop here!
It’s car-bo-naaaa-ted

Leave a Reply

